## Office of the Legislative Chair

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

Martha Sauerbrey Legislative Chair



## PRESS RELEASE

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 10, 2020

**Contact: Tioga County Legislative Office** 

## TIOGA COUNTY COVID-19 UPDATE – JULY 10, 2020

Owego, NY - Tioga County Legislative Chairwoman Sauerbrey reported the following Tioga County COVID-19 Statistics:

- 167 Confirmed Cases Total confirmed cases, to date.
- **81 Individuals in Mandatory Quarantine.** These are individuals who have had close contact (6 ft.) with someone who has tested positive, but is not displaying symptoms for COVID-19; or individuals that have traveled to China, Iran, Japan, South Korea, or Italy and is displaying symptoms of COVID-19.
- **130 Recovered** Total number of individuals who had a confirmed case of COVID-19 and are now symptom and fever-free that meet the criteria to be released from Isolation.
- 24 Deaths

This is a snapshot of data provided to Tioga County Public Health at this point in time. Administered tests are tracked in various ways. Test results are reported.

Legislative Chair, Martha Sauerbrey wants to draw attention to the increase in mandatory quarantine numbers. This increase is the direct result from large gatherings, barbeque events and parties. It is important that we keep our numbers down so that we continue to open up businesses and activities throughout the Southern Tier. It is also important to remember that if we want to get our children back in school we need to pull together and practice good habits like wearing masks, washing our hands, and practice social distancing.

Chair Sauerbrey also wants to remind the public to Avoid All Non-Essential Travel to States under COVID-19 Travel Advisory. If you have traveled from one of the 19 states that have high rates of infection, Governor Cuomo has asked that you quarantine for 14 days upon returning to New York State. The travel advisory requires individuals to take personal responsibility for complying in the best interest of public health and safety. This includes Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. Please visit <a href="https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory">https://coronavirus.health.ny.gov/covid-19-travel-advisory</a> for updates as states may be added and removed from this list.

For further information, please refer to the following resources:

- NEW! https://covid19.tiogacountyny.com
- NEW! Tioga County Coronavirus Response Hotline 687-8225
- Facebook @Tioga County Public Health
- Facebook @TiogaMH (Tioga County Department of Mental Hygiene)
- Tioga County Public Health Voicemail Line 687-8623
- NYS Coronavirus Hotline: 888-364-3065 (for general questions or information about COVID-19)
- Tioga County Emergency Food Hotline 607-354-0965

###