Office of the Legislative Clerk

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

▲ 607 687 8240 ➡ 607 687 8232 ♀ www.TiogaCountyNY.gov
Cathy Haskell Legislative Clerk Amy Eiklor Deputy Legislative Clerk

2020 Annual Report Legislative Clerk/County Auditor

2020 – A YEAR LIKE NO OTHER

Year 2020 was an unprecedented year due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19).

On March 14, 2020, Chairwoman Sauerbrey declared a State of Emergency for Tioga County due to the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. COVID-19 brought, and continues to do so, an array of ever-changing State guidance, phases, and protocols related to State and local governmental operations, workforce reductions for non-essential employees, business and school closures/re-openings, and State Aid budgetary delays/cuts to name a few. As a result, Tioga County implemented a mid-year 10% budgetary cut across the board for County departments, in-person meetings quickly transitioned into Zoom meetings, and the manner in which we conducted daily business changed.

Chair Sauerbrey conducted weekly press conferences to keep the public apprised of the fluid information as it became available from the State. Legislative Clerk Haskell began sending daily press releases on March 18, 2020, which continues currently.

CHAIR AND DEPUTY CHAIR APPOINTMENTS

The Legislature held their First Special and Organizational Meeting of 2020 on January 2, 2020 and the following Legislators were sworn-in for their Chair and Deputy Chair appointments:

Legislator/Chairwoman Sauerbrey was re-elected by the Legislature as Chairwoman for 2020 serving her seventh one-year Chair term.

Legislator Hollenbeck was re-elected by the Legislature as the 1st Deputy Legislative Chair for 2020 serving his fourth one-year term.

Legislator Weston was re-elected by the Legislature as the 2nd Deputy Legislative Chair for 2020 serving his fifth one-year term.



Office of the Legislative Clerk

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego, NY 13827

607 687 8240 ⊕ 607 687 8232 ♀ www.TiogaCountyNY.gov
Cathy Haskell Legislative Clerk Amy Eiklor Deputy Legislative Clerk

LEGISLATIVE MEETINGS

The Legislature convened 12 regular meetings; four of which were held in the evening (March, June, September, and December) and two via Zoom. In addition, eight special meetings and seven public hearings were held. Minutes scribed, typed, indexed, and copied for the official Journal of Proceedings.

The Legislature adopted 285 resolutions and two Local Laws in 2020; Local Law No. 1 of 2020 – Tioga County Mandatory Source Separation Law and Local Law No. 2 of 2020 – Collection of a Hotel/Motel Tax in Tioga County.

The Legislature acknowledged 22 proclamations in 2020. Most notably were Vietnam War Veterans Day, Women Veterans History Month, Women History 100th Anniversary of the Passage and Ratification of the 19th Amendment to the US Constitution, and Public Health Employee Appreciation Day.

The Legislature presented 13 Recognition Resolutions honoring the dedicated service of long-term employees retiring with 18 – 40 years of County employment.

FINANCIAL

Home Rule Request and resolution was prepared and sent for the County's three-year sales tax extender Bill, however, the Governor enacted one omnibus Bill imposing the additional one percent of sales and compensating use taxes for a period of three years in the State's 2021 Budget.

The County Auditor and Deputy Auditor reviewed and processed \$429,424.13 in credit card purchases, down by \$90,334.25 from 2019.

The County Auditor and Deputy Auditor reviewed and processed 7,986 accounts payable invoices equating over \$22 million dollars in 2020.

2021 Tentative Budget Public Hearing was held on November 10, 2020 and was adopted at the Twelfth Regular Legislature Meeting on December 15, 2020.



TIOGA COUNTY, NEW YORK

Office of the Legislative Clerk

Ronald E. Dougherty County Office Building 56 Main Street Owego,

▲ 607 687 8240 ➡ 607 687 8232 ♀ www.TiogaCountyNY.gov
Cathy Haskell Legislative Clerk Amy Eiklor Deputy Legislative Clerk

PERSONNEL

Information Security Officer Haskett was re-appointed for another one-year term for 2020.

Deputy Legislative Clerk Heffernan resigned as of March 13, 2020 for a position in the Department of Motor Vehicles. Position remained vacant for the remainder of 2020. Interviews were conducted in November 2020 and resolution adopted in December 2020 appointing Amy Eiklor as the new Deputy Legislative Clerk effective January 4, 2021.

Budget Officer Rita Hollenbeck retired as of February 1, 2020 and Jackson Bailey was hired as the new part-time Budget Officer as of April 13, 2020.

2021 GOALS

As we begin the New Year, I am looking forward to accomplishing the following:

- Continued training for Deputy Legislative Clerk Eiklor hired as of January 4, 2021.
- Attending the annual NYS Association of Clerks of County Legislative Boards conference tentatively scheduled for October 27th 29th, 2021.
- Working closely with ITCS, Treasurer's Office, and Law Department for coordination and development of a Munis training program, in conjunction with the County's Munis super-users group, to provide staff training.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Haskell

Legislative Clerk/County Auditor



t Owego, NY 13827