MeganGriffiths, Agricultural Development Specialist
Megan Griffiths
Agricultural Development Specialist

[email protected]

(607) 687-8263

56 Main Street
Owego, NY 13827

Main Phone:
(607) 223-7076

 Like Us On Facebook

Agriculture is a dynamic industry in Tioga County. Tioga County Agricultural Development exists to achieve sustainable growth in the agricultural economy and improve communication between farmers, rural landowners, and public agencies. Explore the menu choices below to learn more about the services we provide.

  Meetings and Events

No events currently scheduled.

  News and Announcements

 Documents and Programs

Tioga County has three NYS Agricultural Districts:

  • Spencer Ag District #1-includes the towns of Spencer, Candor, Barton and Tioga
  • Owego Nichols Ag District #2-includes the towns of Owego and Nichols
  • North Tioga Ag District #3-includes the towns of Newark Valley, Berkshire, and Richford

NYS Agricultural Districts protect and promote the availability of land for farming purposes. Review of existing Agricultural Districts occurs every eight years from the anniversary date of the district formation. During the 8-year review process, parcels may be added or removed from the district.

In between 8-year reviews, parcels may be added to an existing district during a designated annual enrollment period.  Tioga County's designated annual enrollment period is January 1st-January 31st.  

The Tioga County Agricultural and Farmland Protection Board was established by resolution of the Tioga County Legislature in November 1992. The current members of the Tioga County Ag and Farmland Protection Board are:

  • Tim Lawton-Chair         
  • Pam Moore
  • Ben Whittemore
  • Lisa Bloodnick
  • Howard Vischer
  • John Lacey
  • Ed Hollenbeck
  • Dale Weston
  • Elaine Jardine
  • Terie Huseby
  • T Hanson

The board is tasked with advising the county legislative body and working with the county planning department in relation to the proposed establishment, modification, continuation, or termination of any agricultural district within the county. 

The Ag and Farmland Protection Board was also instrumental in developing the Tioga County Ag and Farmland Protectoin Plan.  The most recent version of the plan was completed in May 2015.